Skip to content

The personal best just got beat again

June 23, 2013

Although this blog should probably be called ‘surprisingly fit semi-alcoholic running in Brighton‘ I amazed myself today. I did have a few too many beers and cheeky glasses of wine yesterday but none the less I went out for my ‘long’ run of the week. It was the limit pretty much of how far I can run at the moment without stimulus of a bribe, prize or glory πŸ™‚

7.27 miles in 1 hour 11 seconds.

brighton_seafront_promenade_east_beach

I’m pretty happy with that. I had decided to try for a long run and I wanted to make it as flat as possible so I ran along the seafront. But blimey the wind doesn’t half make a difference. I was running into a headwind and it drained me more than I expected. It was nice to have a following wind for a couple of miles too though.

230613a

So now I need to try and map out a run without hills and without wind, bit like a treadmill in a gym then πŸ˜‰

230613b

That was fine into and back from Hove but in Brighton there were too many people out and about clogging up the paths and road crossings. Add the wind to that and my flagging speed over the last few miles weren’t my finest. None of that detracts from the fact I am pleased in ran so far. In had intended to do 6.25 miles as that equated to a 10k and I wanted to find out how my pace was compared to others.

230613c

Am I tentatively starting to think of running a 10k….maybe! But then without a car how the hell does one get to and from such events. I’m not running three and back as well as doing the 10k:-D

So what is my ‘prize’ today? Currently enjoying a pint in The Dyke pub, something I do a little too often after a run, so am I running to get fit, running to compete, running to the pub. Bit of all maybe, but at least I am running πŸ™‚

From → Running

One Comment
  1. Wow! Sounds like you’re doing great! πŸ™‚
    I’m just down the road from you in Hove and those winds on the seafront are crazy to run against. Enjoy your well deserved pint! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

