Skip to content

Why bother?

June 27, 2013

I guess whether you have been running for two weeks or twenty years it’s a question that comes up.

It’s 8am in cold cloudy Brighton and I’m waiting for a bus to go to work (hang on isn’t this blog  supposed to be about running?) and I’m not happy.

Motivation!

I guess it’s easy when you first start running because it’s all new. you have decided to start, you’ve told the world and are achieving great things each time you run. At some point everyone has a bad day so how do you keep the motivation going?

I have planned to go for a run tonight, not a long one but a ‘maintenance run’. All I feel like doing at the moment is curling up in bed and ignoring the world. But If I can get through today and go for that run I know the endorphins will help and I’ll feel better about myself.

If I don’t go for that run then this may be all over 😦

I want to run, I want to blog, I don’t need to share everything with the world, hence trying to keep this blog just about my running, but if anyone has any tips on staying motivated I’d love to hear them.

Hopefully the next post will be about my run tonight.

From → Running

2 Comments
  1. I know it’s easier said than done sometimes, but I find the best thing is to just stop thinking for long enough to make it out the front door. Just switch off your brain and go for it!
    Hope you have a great run. 🙂

  2. Thanks, I think just getting out the door is key….I am too prone to visioning the run (and the hills)!

Leave a Reply

