Skip to content

It’s time to start again…

December 24, 2013

It was all going so well back in August, the sun was shining, it was warm sunny and dry and running was a pleasure.

But now it has been months and I have only been running on a treadmill in a cosy dry gym with no dogs, flies and other random obstacles.

I’m resisting the urge to make a New Year resolution but I am thinking that by running outside again after work I’ll delay that inevitable first beer of the evening and will be doubling up my exercise as I will still go to the gym during the day.

So how to get motivated? Well I have just read a blog over at Runkeeper :5 ways to set a running resolution that sticks

And the bit that sticks out for me is:

If you’ve been able to push through less than ideal winter weather and stay consistent, then running in the spring will feel like a joy! Oh, and did we mention that RunKeeper users who worked out in January were three times as active as those runners who didn’t get a workout in at the beginning of the year? So yeah, there’s some science behind that one.

So maybe I’ll be out there soon but not tonight. Well it is Christmas Eve so I’m starting with excuses already!

Oh and once I do start again (there, I said it, that’s a commitment then…) it will be time for some new gear as I’ve only got shorts and t-shirts….advice anyone? Probably some kind of waterproof top I imagine!

From → Running, Running Tips

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

